C5 Forced Induction/Nitrous C5 Corvette Turbochargers, Superchargers, Centrifugal, Twin Screw & Roots Blowers, Twin Turbo Kits, Intercoolers, Wet & Dry Nitrous Injection, Meth
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Forced induction effect on Engine life?

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2005, 11:07 AM
Hitman1
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Forced induction effect on Engine life?

This has probably been beaten to death, but please help another newbie here one more time because I've been hearing conflicting opinions

Does a supercharge affect the engine life and reliability?

What are the pros and cons of going Forced Induction vs Heads/Cam package? Money is an issue so I cant do both.
Old 08-26-2005, 11:35 AM
H20Vette
Pro

I'm a newbie to this stuff myself, but I'm pretty sure the answer is "yes", FI/nitrous does stress the engine. I think whether it is enough to break it depends on a lot of factors, which I don't understand enough to explain (but I do know that tune is important because lean = death). I've known several friends running nitrous and blowers to do engine damage.
Old 08-26-2005, 11:39 AM
corvettebob1
Melting Slicks

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

Originally Posted by Hitman1
This has probably been beaten to death, but please help another newbie here one more time because I've been hearing conflicting opinions

Does a supercharge affect the engine life and reliability?

What are the pros and cons of going Forced Induction vs Heads/Cam package? Money is an issue so I cant do both.
Anything that increases the horsepower of the engine will have a direct effect on engine life!
However a S/C will have less of an effect then H/C because it only is there when you put your foot in it.
Let the mods begin
Old 08-26-2005, 12:15 PM
QuickSilver2002
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by corvettebob1
Anything that increases the horsepower of the engine will have a direct effect on engine life!