C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

C1-C4 Conversion

Old 06-26-2005, 08:56 PM
Woozster
Heel & Toe

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default C1-C4 Conversion

I am a newbie to the classic Corvette restoration world, but I have recently been introduced to the C4 conversion concept. I am interested in the '59-'60 Corvette style but have been put off by the way it drives (I am looking for a driver, not a show-car). I have been speaking with Richard Lagasse about the subject of C4 conversions and he has been a tremendous help. I was wondering if the Corvette community could give me some advice and information about their knowledge of restoring and investing into this type of vehicle.

Thanks!
Matt Woosley
Old 06-26-2005, 10:00 PM
vettes1st
Melting Slicks

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
St. Jude Donor '06

Only time will determine the investment worth. I think most people building these cars do it because they like the look of the old but want the dependability and ride/drive of the newer cars. I'm doing one because I always wanted to. I've had investment cars. Now I'll have a FUN car.
Old 06-26-2005, 10:07 PM
newbe60
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default i'm sure others will give you more info but

While you are waiting you should look at the site for art morrison. They have JUST put out their max G frame for their 1960 vette fits 53-62.. the info is just coming out about it but they did the same idea on a 55 chevy with a bill mitchell 427 and it ran a 12.6 in the 1/4 and pulled less then 1 G ... on the other hand is your frame in bad shape if not look at jim meyer racing for their bolt/weld in trick front end that some have said makes it drive like a new car but it's not c-4 stuff but I understand is tough and built well..tci,progressive both make weld in front end c-4 stuff for the 53-62...