C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

'89 Heater Core...

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2004, 10:52 PM
Dynamo
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '89 Heater Core...

well, i was trying to beat the station wagon in a race at a light (congratulate me i won! :lol: ) and then some "smoke" started spewing from all the vents and i was like oh gawd... so i pulled over and looked under the hood but nothing seemed broken. so i drove home... took it to the goodyear place and when they told me they wanted $140 for the heatercore and $1100 for labor i about crapped myself! i am just wondering if it is an easy task to replace this (i have never done anything like this before to any car) or were the mechanics trying to con me? thx in advance!
Old 03-22-2004, 12:17 AM
84whitevette
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: '89 Heater Core... (Dynamo)

Ok, well I have an 84 and I'm putting new carpet in it, so I wanted to change the heater core. In my last car, the heater core went and ruined the carpet. I refuse to pay $400.00 for corvette carpet and then have it ruined. From all my investigating, I've heard the heater core is easy to do, but very time consuming because of all the dissasembly required. It only costs about $50.00 to $100.00 for the heater core. But the labor does run alot because of the time required. Did you leak coolant all over the floor? How many miles on your car... I'm just curious. Please post how it goes and any tips, becuse I'll be doing the same thing in 2 weeks!

Pete
Old 03-22-2004, 01:21 AM
vetteoz
Safety Car

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Default Re: '89 Heater Core... (84whitevette)

Here are two links to start.
http://forums.corvetteforum.com/zerothread?id=531792
http://forums.corvetteforum.com/zerothread?id=572954

Do a search under heater core /C4 Tech / archived and see how popular this subject is.
Old 03-22-2004, 04:16 AM
84whitevette
Instructor